BuckingJam and the Junos

By Jon McCaslin on March 11, 2020

BuckingJam Palace prides itself on the consistent high quality of the many jazz artists who play there. In the spirit of the Juno Awards (which are taking place in Saskatoon this coming weekend) we thought it would be prudent to recognize the many Juno awarding winning artists and nominees that have graced the BuckingJam living room stage over the past couple of years.

Here's a short (!) and concise list of the many BuckingJam artists who have either won Juno awards as a leader and/or sideman or have been nominated for an award:

Juno Award Winners

Kirk MacDonald

Mike Downes

Robi Botos

Mike Rud & Sienna Dahlen

Laila Biali

Mike Murley


Jodi Proznick

Ted Quinlan

Larnell Lewis

Joel Miller

Quinsin Nachoff

Shirantha Beddage

Morgan Childs (with the Amanda Tosoff Quartet)

Jeff McLeod (with the Alison Young Quartet)

Joanna Borromeo

Adrean Farrugia

And here's a few other worthy mentions as well...

Bassist Solon McDade (who performed with pianist Noam Lemish's group) won the 2007 Juno award for best Roots-Traditional Album with his world-folk group The McDades.

Speaking of bass players, Jodi Proznick took home the 2019 Western Canadian Music Award for Best Jazz Artist of the Year while Edmonton's Rubim De Toledo captured the same award in 2018. Toronto bassists Steve Wallace and Kieran Overs have anchored the bottom end of many Juno award-winning and nominated projects over the years.

We would also like to recognize Montreal alto saxophonist Benjamin Deschamps and his band No Codes which took home the coveted 2019 Montreal Jazz Festival Grand Prix du Festival award.

And how about bassist Paul Sikivie (who appeared with tenor saxophonist Sam Taylor) and his two-time Grammy winning work with vocalist Cecile McLorin Salvant?

And of course, don't forget about drummer Lewis Nash whose has played on no less than 10 Grammy winning albums over the years (including an album with Betty Carter!)

Become A Member & Support Live Jazz

Sign up and join Nica's Circle on the BJP website to get access to exclusive content and 48 hour advance access to ticket sales.
Sign Up Now
Member Log In
Website jazzed up by  
Saskatoon Web Design by Becker Design and Media
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram